Having your license suspended or revoked is a major inconvenience. We often take our driving privileges for granted until they are taken away. Too often I see clients getting charged with driving on a suspended license because they thought they could get away with it “just this once.”Criminal Charge in Massachusetts? Call Attorney Russell Matson at (781) 817-6332.
One time is all it takes. If you were aware that your driver’s license was under suspension, then you knew exactly what was coming when you saw the police lights in your rear view. Now you are facing criminal charges of driving on a suspended license, possible extension of that already too-long suspension, and even the chance of jail time. Yes, the Commonwealth takes operating on a suspended license charges that seriously.
When your license is taken away, your life goes on. You still have to get to work and run errands. If you have a family, it is even more difficult as you are responsible for getting around and providing for the needs of others. Maybe you had to get to work or run your child to an appointment. Maybe your ride backed out at the last minute. Whatever the case, you’re now facing additional charges and it’s probably not helping your stress level.
Or you may not have been aware that your Massachusetts license was suspended. It is possible to miss notification of a suspension if it is a cumulative event for too many speeding tickets or moving violations, or for being a habitual traffic offender.
Unfortunately, not knowing your license was under suspension is not a defense in itself. But we can use that to try to at least minimize the damage if we are unable to make this charge go away completely.
Whatever happened, whether you made a mistake, or you think the registry made a mistake, give me a call and I can help you sort it out.
Massachusetts Driving on Suspended License – Penalties
The penalty you face for driving on a suspended license depends on if this has happened before, and for what reason it was suspended.
If this is your first offense, you will face a $500 and up to 10 days in jail.
In most cases, a second and subsequent offense will lead to 60 days to 1 year in jail.
However, depending on the reason for your initial suspension, this potential sentence could be longer. If your license was suspended for driving under the influence (OUI/DWI), you will face a mandatory 60 day jail sentence.
Ref: MGL §90.23
Penalties for your license being permanently revoked in Massachusetts are even more serious, particularly if the license revocation is due to a 5th offense DUI conviction. You face mandatory jail time for driving on a revoked license in most cases.
The only way to know for certain what kind of penalties you will be facing is to call me. Let’s talk about the charges against you and what led to them in the first place.
These charges can be very serious and cause even more stress than your original suspension. If your license is suspended due to a previous run -in with the courts, then it won’t get any easier if the judge thinks you disobeyed a penalty they issued.
But there are always defense options. We can come up with ways to fight this charge, protect your rights, and your freedom to drive. Contact me today to discuss your case.
Call Now for a Free Criminal Consultation.